

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

METROPOLITAN ATLANTA RAPID TRANSIT AUTHORITY

MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS

THURSDAY, DECEMBER 8, 2022

ATLANTA, GEORGIA

MEETING SUMMARY

CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

Chair Rita Scott called the meeting to order at 1:56 P.M.

Board Members Robert Ashe III **Present:** Stacy Blakley

Jim Durrett William Floyd Roderick Frierson Freda Hardage

Russell McMurry¹

Al Pond

Kathryn Powers

Rita Scott

Reginald Snyder Heather Aquino¹ Thomas Worthy Roderick Mullice

Board Members

Absent:

Roberta Abdul-Salaam

Staff Members Present: Collie Greenwood

Melissa Mullinax Ralph McKinney Raj Srinath Luz Borrero Rhonda Allen

¹Russell McMurry is the Commissioner of the Georgia Department of Transportation (GDOT) and Heather Aquino is the Interim Executive Director of the Georgia Regional Transportation Authority (GRTA). Per the MARTA Act, both are nonvoting members of the Board of Directors.

Josh Rowan Peter Andrews George Wright Michael Kreher

Also in Attendance: Justice Leah Ward Sears

Jonathan Hunt
Colleen Kiernan
Paula Nash
Tyrene Huff
Kenya Hammond
Jacqueline Holland

PUBLIC COMMENTS (SUBMITTALS VIA TELEPHONE, U.S. MAIL AND IN PERSON) None

1. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES

Approval of the November 10, 2022 Board Meeting Minutes.

On a motion by Board Member Powers, seconded by Board Member Blakley, the motion passed by a vote of 12 to 0 with 2 members abstaining and 14 members present.

2. PLANNING & CAPITAL PROGRAMS COMMITTEE REPORT

Committee Chair John Pond reported that the Committee met on November 17, 2022 and approved the following resolutions:

Committee Chair Report Planning & Capital Programs

Approval of the Planning & Capital Programs committee resolutions 2a & 2b. On a motion by Board Member Mullice, seconded by Board Member Durrett, the resolution passed by a vote of 12 to 0 with 2 members abstaining and 14 members present.

3. OPERATIONS & SAFETY COMMITTEE REPORT

Committee Chair W. Thomas Worthy reported that the Committee met on November 17, 2022 and approved the following resolution:

Committee Chair Report Operations & Safety

Approval of the Operations & Safety committee resolutions 3a, 3b, 3c, 3d & 3e. On a motion by Board Member Mullice, seconded by Board Member Worthy, the resolution passed by a vote of 12 to 0 with 2 members abstaining and 14 members present.

4. BUSINESS MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE REPORT

Committee Chair Roderick Frierson reported that the Committee met on November 17, 2022 and approved the following resolutions:

Committee Chair Report Business Management

Approval of the Business Management Committee resolutions 4a, 4b & 4c. On a motion by Board Member Mullice, seconded by Board Member Snyder, the resolution passed by a vote of 12 to 0 with 2 members abstaining and 14 members present.

5. EXTERNAL RELATIONS COMMITTEE REPORT

Committee Chair Robert Ashe III reported that the Committee met on November 18, 2022.

Committee Chair Report External Relations

The Committee received the following briefings:

- Government Affairs Update
- MARTA Media Impressions Update

6. AUDIT COMMITTEE REPORT

Committee Chair Freda Hardage reported that the Committee met on November 18, 2022.

Committee Chair Report Audit

The Committee received the following briefings:

- MARTA Annual External Financial Audit for FY22
- Internal Audit Activity
- Cybersecurity

7. NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT

Election of Board Officers for 2023

The Committee Chair read into the record the recommended slate of 2023 Board Officers. The Board voted as follows:

- 1. Chair Thomas Worthy. Roderick Frierson nominated Rita Scott. Robert Ashe, III closed nominations. The Board voted 8 to 4 with 2 abstentions and 14 members present for Thomas Worthy, and 4 to 8 with 2 abstentions and 14 members present for Rita Scott.
- 2. Vice Chair Kathryn Powers. Nominations closed by Robert Ashe, III. The Board vote was 12 to 0 with 2 abstentions and 14 members present.
- 3. Secretary Al Pond. Nominations closed by Robert Ashe, III. The Board vote was 12 to 0 with 2 abstentions and 14 members present.
- 4. Treasurer Roderick Frierson. Robert Ashe, III declined the nomination for Board Treasurer due to his resignation from the Board at the end of December 2022. He nominated Rita Scott for Treasurer. She declined since she is the Immediate Past Chair. Board member Floyd nominated Roderick Frierson. The Board vote was 12 to 0 with 2 abstentions and 14 members present.

2023 Board Officers:

Chair – W. Thomas Worthy
Vice Chair – Kathryn Powers
Secretary – Al Pond
Treasurer – Roderick Frierson
Immediate Past Chair – Rita Scott

8. 2023 SCHEDULE OF BOARD AND STANDING COMMITTEE MEETINGS

On a vote of 12 to 0 with 2 abstentions and 14 members present, the 2023 Schedule of Board and Standing Committee meetings passed.

9. OTHER MATTERS

Chief Legal Counsel read the following resolutions into the record:

- 1. Resolution Authorizing the Execution of Amendment No, 1 to the South Fulton Park and Ride Lot Agreement between the Georgia Department of Transportation and MARTA. On a motion by Board Member Ashe, seconded by Board Member Durrett, the resolution passed with a vote of 12 to 0 with 2 abstentions and 14 members present.
- 2. Amendment of Resolution Approving the Sale of MARTA Land Parcel #C2104A to the City of Atlanta in exchange for MARTA's purchase of certain Air Rights. On a motion by Board Member Durrett, seconded by Board Member Pond, the resolution passed with a vote of 12 to 0, with 2 abstentions and 14 members present.
- 3. Resolution Authorizing the Execution of a Settlement and Release Agreement with GTS P43706. On a motion by Board Member Durrett, seconded by Board Member Hardage, the resolution passed with a vote of 10 to 0 with 4 abstentions and 14 members present.
- 4. Resolution Authorizing the Submittal of the second round of Acquisition Offers and Settlements for the Right of Way and Easements in support of the Summerhill Bus Rapid Transit Project, City of Atlanta, Fulton County, GA. On a motion by Board Member Durrett, seconded by Board Member Ashe, the resolution passed with a vote of 12 to 0 with 2 abstentions and 14 members present.
- 5. Litigation Jose Flores v. MARTA and Siquan Maddox. On a motion by Board Member Durrett, seconded by Board Member Hardage, the resolution passed with a vote of 12 to 0 with 2 abstentions and 14 members present.

10. COMMENTS FROM THE BOARD

Board Members Robert Ashe, III, and Reginald Snyder announced their resignation from the MARTA Board of Directors. They commented on their time as Board members. Others expressed their good wishes and thank you to Board Members Ashe and Snyder.

11. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 3:06 P.M.